United States Permafrost Association

Thomas Douglas
President Elect
Anna Liljedahl
Past President
Mark Waldrop
Molly McGraw
Gerald Frost
Board Members
Mark Demitroff
Margaret Darrow
IPA Representative
Fritz Nelson
Thomas Krzewinski
PYRN Representative:
Daniel Vecellio

US Permafrost Association
PO Box 750141
Fairbanks, AK
Ph: 302-831-0852
Fax 302-831-6654

Frozen Ground
Frozen Ground 2016

In Memoriam

This page recognizes U.S. scientists, engineers, educators, administrators, or others who are now deceased and who advanced our understanding of Alaskan and global permafrost conditions and their relationships to the environment and society. The initial compilation is based largely on those who attended the international conferences on permafrost starting in 1963. Please help us in honoring others by sending a photograph and related information to the USPA secretary.
  • Amos J. Alter 2000
  • Duwayne M. Anderson 2002
  • Robert F. Black
  • Max C. Brewer 2000
  • Fredrick E. Crory 2003
  • Louis De Goes 1997
  • Kaye R. Everett 1994
  • Richard K. Haugen 2006
  • David M. Hopkins 2001
  • Kenneth A. Linell
  • Erwin L. Long 2012
  • C. W "Bill" Lovell 2013
  • Robert D. Miller 2011
  • Siemon W. Muller 1970
  • Troy L. Péwé 1999
  • George K. Swinzov
  • John C. F. Tedrow 2014
  • Leslie A. Viereck 2008
  • Albert Lincoln Washburn 2007