United States Permafrost Association

Cathy Wilson
President Elect
John Thornley
Past President
John Zarling
Susan Wilson
Peppi Croft
Board Members
Torsten Mayrberger
Jessica Ernakovich
Michelle Walvoord
Anna Wagner
PYRN Representative:
Helena Bergstedt
IPA Executive Committee
Frederick "Fritz" Nelson
IPA Representative
Kevin Schaefer
Ed Yarmak

US Permafrost Association
PO Box 750141
Fairbanks, AK

Frozen Ground
Frozen Ground 2020

Educational Permafrost Photo Gallery (EPPG)

All photos in this permafrost gallery have been provided by USPA's members and are intended as an educational resource, showing examples of permafrost features and land forms, engineering applications and challenges, and as examples of permafrost environments.

If you would like submit photos for consideration, or use photos from the galleries below, please our guidelines below.

If you are the owner of an image that was improperly posted here, please contact us. Thank you.

Photo Galleries
  Contributor Organization Keywords
Skip Walker Alaska Geobotany Center nonsorted polygons, ecology, field logistics
Jennifer Watts Woods Hole Research Center patterned ground, building impacts, thermokarst features
Jim Rooney Retired engineering, housing impacts
Ron Paetzold Geo-Watershed Scientific Antarctica, Alaska, patterned ground, field logistics
Gerald "JJ" Frost ABR, Inc. patterned ground, pingos, cryoplanation terraces